If you ever decide to sell or give away your SmartThings Hub to someone else, you’ll want to make sure you reset it to factory defaults so the new owner can start fresh. Here’s how to do it.
RELATED: How to set up the SmartThings Home Monitoring Kit
Keep in mind that resetting SmartThings to factory settings will delete everything, including connections for all of your sensors, as well as any automation tasks and routines you have set up in the app.
The process is quite simple and similar to how you would reset your router. Start by looking for the recessed red button on the back of the SmartThings hub.
Then take a paperclip or other thin object. The hole is large enough to fit pencils and most pens. A mechanical pencil like the one shown below works great.